News & Blogs
Knicks Bulletin: ‘He does a great job of convincing the referees’ – Posting & Toasting
Karl-Anthony Towns gives Knicks much-needed rebounding boost without Mitchell Robinson against Thunder – SNY
Knicks’ Mitchell Robinson: Absent from injury report – CBS Sports
Thunder 103, Knicks 100: Almostttt! – Posting & Toasting
Was Thunder-Knicks an NBA Finals preview? Plus, a Jayson Tatum comeback conspiracy – The New York Times
Knicks’ gutsy performance against Thunder shows they stack up with anyone — despite tired narrative – SNY
Pod Strickland Patreon Preview Episode 574: Going Down Fighting – The Strickland
Knicks Sweep Nuggets | OG Anunoby DOMINANT | Post Game Show & Caller Reactions | EP 704 – Knicks Fan TV
KNICKS at NUGGETS | FULL GAME HIGHLIGHTS | March 6, 2026 – NBA
Knicks at Nuggets – Recap & Reaction | POSTGAME SHOW | Knicks Film School – Knicks Film School
YT News
48 replies on “Knicks Morning News (2026.03.07)”
Really shit day yesterday, for reasons I’d rather keep private. At least that game was a nice thing at the end.
Question of the Day: Is there a point in the regular season at which this sustained level of play allow us as fans to shrug off the Detroit and Cleveland losses? Or do we have to stay on edge no matter what until the playoffs?
We should stay on edge. Complacency definitely breeds a losing mentality, which in turn breeds actual losing.
Very sorry to hear that you had an awful day yesterday.
Boston has had the easiest schedule in the league. Knicks are tied with them in SRS. Their next 3 games: @Cleveland, @Spurs, @Thunder.
Time to get the 2 seed.
Talking about shitty times, we’re running downstairs to the bomb shelter 15 times a day and night for a week now, in this endless fucked up Bibi & Trump war.
The Knicks haven’t won anything for 50 plus years. At no point do you shrug bad losses to the teams above them.
Stay safe, darules.
SRS includes strength of schedule. What is doesn’t include is home/away (more significant early in the season when there are imbalances), schedule (B2B games) and injuries.
darules, wishing peace and good fortune to you and all the people and nations affected and involved.
Alan, hoping you and family are healthy and well and many reciprocating good days are ahead.
Alan, in answer to your question, I agree with Brown that the regular season is for learning. When the playoffs start, everyone goes back to 0-0 and nothing from the regular season can change that. So my answer is: those games are irrelevant in terms of whether we won or lost, only relevant as to the lessons learned and whether they will be helpful going into the playoffs.
The important takeaway for me is that we have to be ready to play our A game in most playoff games no matter who we face, and I don’t think we’ve defined the ceiling of our A game yet. That’s the thing about a 7-game series. There are adjustments and counteradjustments, hot and cold streaks, and injury luck. But on paper, we are showing that we can prevail against anyone if we are playing at or near our best. So I don’t think we should be overly concerned with our recent games vs. CLE and DET. If anything, those losses should keep the team humble and remind them that they need to bring it when the time comes.
The EC playoffs are gonna be a bloodbath.
I should also qualify that by saying that there might be “versions” of our A game depending on our opponent and the flow of the game/series. This is where we will find out whether Brown’s flexibility is an asset or a liability. I like what I’ve seen thus far. Most importantly, Brown seems to be convincing both Brunson and KAT to modify their games in ways that make the team less dependent on their scoring. The fact that we are 7th in Drtg and even better than that post-ASG is amazing. Both Brunson and KAT have been part of that. They seem to be making their teammates better, which is a must if we are to get to the finals.
So sorry darules, it can’t be easy to be fighting the good fight over there. You’ve got stones, stay safe.
I definitely feel better about the Detroit losses than I did at the time(s) because it’s clear we can compete with anyone. Sometimes a team randomly has another team’s number during the regular season and it doesn’t mean much of anything. Every Knicks fan I know can recite off the top of their head that the 2012-2013 team was 3-1 against the Heat. I won’t opine on how meaningful I think that would’ve been if we got past Roy Hibbert. To use a more uplifting example, there’s of course us and Boston last year.
The term “x-factor” is vague and poorly defined, but our fortunes against the best teams really do seem to boil down to whether Mitch is healthy and playing at his best. When he is, I like our chances no matter the opponent. When he’s not, we feel kind of predictable and prone to getting punked.
Gentlemen I am pleased to report that at this moment we have our second best SRS of all time at 6.54, trailing only the 1970 team at 8.42.
Kinda sad that still puts us only 5th in the league but pretty cool nonetheless. Brown > Thibs.
It has been the case since the firing and hiring that Brown could not be judged until after the playoffs. I’m sticking to that. But whatever the final destination, the journey has been more pleasant.
The thing about that game is it finally matched up talent and expectations with results. THAT was the team I’ve been waiting for. Maybe unfairly, but I honestly don’t think so.
Also, I could wander through that box score all day. OG 6-11 from three. The much maligned Josh Hart 8-12 and 2-4 from three for 18. Towns 13 rebounds, Brunson 15 assists (!). Mitch 6-7. Jose 3 assists in 11 minutes. Kolek 8 assists in NINE minutes. Dadiet 4-5 including 3-3 from three. Even Clarkson — ah, never mind.
But what a box of chocolates.
Thanks, guys. Noble, I don’t even know if it’s the good fight anymore. Politics is so deeply corrupted that it’s harder than ever to differentiate the good guys and the bad guys. But I won’t get into it here. Going to watch last night’s replay seems much more fun.
Sorry to those having bad times. Hope the Knicks can uncharacteristically be a source of relief.
The Pistons losses still chafe. Cade seems to miss a lot of shots against other teams that he doesn’t against us.
I think matchups DO matter. So the fact that the Pistons gave us so much trouble in the playoffs last year and have been blowing us out in the regular season this year is probably worth examining beyond just saying it’s random noise.
I don’t have a strong opinion on it, but maybe we struggle a little more with tough physical defenses and/or young athletic fast teams more than average. So maybe Detroit just fits our weakness profile better than other top teams like Denver, Boston or others.
There are no good guys.
I’m convinced that most high level government and business leaders are sociopaths or at minimum at that end of the spectrum and most of the people that are supposed to expose them are soulless and on their payroll.
The exceptions are few and far between because their careers get destroyed (or they get killed in an accident or assassinated) if they are too successful at ruffling feathers.
Our job it’s to stay alive and try to enjoy basketball while all these sick fvcks are destroying the world. If you like you can also cash some tickets at Tampa Downs today. 😉
Yup, Strat’s right on this one. Only sociopaths achieve ultimate power, or a genial megalomaniac at best. The rest of us duck and cover.
Last night was great, but the nuggs shot very poorly as a team from three. Some of that was perhaps our defense, but sometimes a team goes cold. At least we’ve finally joined this new 3pt variance league.
Oh and hbd tvz rip
Strat, your post sounds like something you would find in an assassin’s manifesto.
Not saying that high-level leaders are all great people. but there are enougn good ones to not broad-brush them. Same with the press.
Sorry this is the world at the moment, da rules. Hang in there.
The peril of the broadbrush is that it paints us onto a corner where nothing good can happen, which is contrary to evidence and experience. There are good laws. There are positive changes. There are moments when we become better. Analytics, Strat. Take a look at when those good things happen and maybe you’ll take up watercolors instead.
It’s fine not to like how things are going on around us as long as we at the same time advocate that nothing can change. That is exactly how the system wants us to behave. Then, indeed, nothing will change and we can watch basketball as one of those manipulative distractions, those ‘feel good’ things.
By the way, this is a vicious circle. The quality of leaders allowed to be in power more or less reflects who the people are as a society. Either misinformed, uninformed, frustrated, confused, and manipulated or the other way around.
Feel for Alan and da. And applaud their posts as we are a community. But please don’t hijack this thread with non-Knicks things after this victory. Not that I am saying you are, but let’s enjoy…
Mike Brown is… pretty good? The Knicks’ play on the defensive end has been a revelation. He has given playing time to the guys who have earned it, has benched the guys who haven’t been very good, and doesn’t seem to have a doghouse or play favorites.
After a rocky patch it seems like everybody is buying in. There’s a long way to go, but right now you have to give the guy a passing grade.
Yeah, let’s skip the politics.
I never put much stock in coaches but it’s hard to say anything bad about MB. The defense, with KAT and Brunson, has been elite, better than under Thibs even according to a post I saw. .
The offense looks pretty damn good. We lost Deuce but we have got a lot of guys who are playing well on both sides of the ball. It’s fun to watch.
I think Mike Brown has been really good. We all knew he was a “second-level” coach…not up there with Pop or Spo, but a retread on Thibs’ level, give or take. He had a pretty high floor compared to, say, a young whippersnapper with no head coaching experience, and that’s why he was hired. As to his ceiling, that is to be seen. But the main boxes we hoped for Brown to check off seem to be checked off:
-tinkering with multiple lineups (double-bigs, no bigs, etc.)
-reducing starter’s minutes
-giving young players a shot
-keeping everyone on the bench fresh
-diversifying the offense
But in addition, he has directly challenged the narrative that the KAT-Brunson pairing was fatally flawed, one that I must plead guilty to believing. In this recent stretch, both players have upped their defensive games, and while the team defense is masking their flaws, they seem to be doing things that they weren’t doing under Thibs. KAT is protecting the rim a bit better, and both he and Brunson seem to be defending more effectively when they are targeted in the PnR and on an island. Brown deserves a lot of credit for that.
Agree. KAT and Brunson pairing may still be fatally flawed… but you gotta love seeing the team and its best players explore themselves and each other and come away with positive growth. Team is bought in and that’s a non-negotiable if you wanna make noise in the games that count.
BTW I know you can only take so much away from a cameo in extended garbage time, but Pacome Dadiet looked like an NBA player out there last night. Not just the shooting, but the moving, reacting, mixing it up.
It’s amazing how much a player can improve in the 20 months from 18-20.
We are sort of surprised because we seldom get to see a young player selected and actually stay on the roster and not be part of a trade.
The guy still can’t leagally drink. should be a junior in college at best.
Dadiet is actually 3 months younger than Diawara, so yeah, there is still lots of room for development. He might wind up being a casualty of the “win now’ thing, but I’d rather string him along than McCullar.
I’d have more faith in Dadiet if he was shooting well from 3 in the G League, but he’s young and can improve.
I have no inclination towards violence, but honestly I’m not so sure voting works anymore. The choices are mostly bad.
I them as I see them.
I left room for exceptions, but I do think success has become way too tied to corruption, payoffs, cheating, lying, promoting what will get you ahead and a lack of empathy among people of high success in government and businesss. I don’t give out gold stars for just being a relatively decent human being or pretending to be one. That’s not to say too much empathy is not a problem also, but whatever the stats are on sociopaths imo they are understated in DC and on Wall St.
I’ll be happy to move on from this subject.
tuned in to the sixers/hawks game and saw ol’ cam payne running all over the floor like a crazy person…I liked having him on the team last year, fun player…
big al and darules, my thoughts and best wishes are with you both…hope you are able to enjoy some moments of respite today…take care of your body, and hopefully the mind and spirit will follow…
Like this chart. Puts Mitch in some perspective, rebounding wise.
He’s one of the most dominant physical presences the NBA has seen in a while.
What chart?
There have been some bad losses, but some great wins as well. As to Alan’s interesting question, I do see good some reasons to view the glass as half full. First, our defense has stepped up. Maybe even better, I believe we have played much more physically on both ends of late. We will never be as quick and athletic as some teams, but we are a very talented and physically strong team with great interior presence at times.-it just can’t be threes or bust. I think Cat, who I have criticized is playing with more gravitas and it’s great to see. Also, our bench, which is minus our best bench player, has been very deep and effective. I have also questioned Coach Brown, but I now believe he is getting more buy in from the players, coaching better and is turning up the throttle a bit as the playoffs approach. My eye test shows that the offense is also jelling more as shown by the assists. I also like the idea of Mitch getting easy lobs after all his crazy hard work on defense and under the basket. I do think the Knicks could get probably an extra 6-8 easy points per game following this strategy and it’s the right thing from a team building perspective. I am therefore optimistic and see a deep playoff run. Note: I am, not usually optimistic about my NY sports teams, being the Knicks, Giants and Mets.
Sorry, I guess I didn’t post the link hat tip Macri.
https://x.com/jcmacrinba/status/2030423656493437376?s=46&t=0wqff4cNt-sCGcDs-uMExw
And here is another one making the case for Mitch’s gravity.
https://x.com/_analyknicks/status/2030435125385683159?s=46&t=0wqff4cNt-sCGcDs-uMExw
owen that’s cherry picked. fails to note that deuce is shooting 36pct with mitch and 44% without him. kat shooting about 100 bps better without him. clarkson about 600 points better without him. overall teams is almost exactly at 37% with or without him. 3pt shot quality i.e. wide open catch and shoot no better without mitch on. not saying there’s zero effect but almost surely minuscule.
Owen, I just love Mitch and hope they use him more on offense. They treat him like a one trick pony, but he’s not IMV. ptmilo, I know you are great with this stuff, but maybe your stats are cherry picked or not fully analyzed, no disrespect, but my eye test is what I rely on.
PT – I don’t try to be objective about Mitch
And I don’t need any stats to tell me he is a man amongst boys on the boards
Nets with the big comeback against Detroit.
Well, maybe the tape from the Nets effort will inform the Knicks. In some ways, I’m like Detroit, really?
Standings all over the place
Sixers down to 8th
Alan, sorry to hear about your day, i hope things get better for you. Darules, stay safe. I hope this nightmare can come to an end soon.
About the question, i’m from the 90s, we always stat on the edge like there’s a Michael Jordan returning just around the corner.
I agree we should feel good about the level of play we’re currently at, but the playoffs are a different animal and even the “extra gear” we might have is more theoretical than a certainty. All this to say that, yeah, we should always stay on the edge no matter what.
And you’ve nailed a question that has everybody on the same page, so that’s great too. Congrats! 👏 😉
Just watched a recap of the Knicks-Spurs game on NBA TV. We looked like every bit of a championship team.
I just love rooting for these guys!
I would agree, and this is indeed a pleasant experience, but we looked like this for a handful of mostly recent games while there has been ample evidence of the opposite this season. Time will tell as to who we really are. April is not far away.
The tape will inform them of two things: play Detroit when Cade is out with a thigh bruise and when Thompson is out with a semi serious ankle sprain.
The Sixers lineup that the Cavs managed to play against tonight is unfair.
Payne/Grimes/Oubre/Barlow/Bona is not quite G league, but it’s damn close.
This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.